將基督徒聚集在一起,加強新西蘭奧特羅亞教會

新西蘭基督教網絡由生活在這片土地上的數百個會眾和數千名基督追隨者組成,由我們共同的信仰宗旨聯合起來

我們是誰

NZCN 是新西蘭基督徒、教會和組織的協作網絡,由教會領袖的跨教派論壇於 2002 年建立,旨在幫助新西蘭教會更加團結和有效,並提出一個合理的、經過充分研究的基督教就公共問題向媒體和政府發聲。 我們的 whakapapa 可以追溯到世界福音派聯盟 (1846 – )、福音派聯盟(新西蘭)、新西蘭福音派團契和 Vision NZ。

我們堅持歷史悠久的基督教信仰,反映了溫和的聖經福音派觀點。 我們跨教派工作,並尋求為整個教會服務,並為教會和社會說話。 我們為聯合祈禱、團契和網絡提供平台。

NZCN 不是一個教會理事會,但與新西蘭奧特羅亞國家教會領袖有聯繫(其中許多人也在我們的參考委員會中)。

我們的基督教信仰觀點

與全球範圍廣泛的教派和教會傳統的基督徒一樣,我們堅持歷史悠久的聖經福音派基督教信仰,正如我們在我們的 信仰聲明. 成為“福音派”只是意味著接受聖經的福音。 福音派基督徒包括——除其他外——那些通常將自己描述為五旬節派或靈恩派的福音派基督徒。 還需要說的是,對於全世界 2 億基督徒中的絕大多數來說,“福音派”這個詞根本沒有任何政治內涵。 NZCN 的成員和領導人必須接受我們的信仰聲明。

NZCN 力求在所有教會中進行建設性的工作,並幫助教會對更廣泛的新西蘭社會產生積極影響。

我們的目的

新西蘭基督教網絡(NZCN)的目的可以概括為

收集

幫助基督徒團結一致地工作

祈禱早餐和像一個新西蘭人一樣祈禱

新西蘭基督教領袖大會

與全國各地的牧師聯繫

建立

幫助資源、加強和建設奧特羅亞教會

連接人和組織

創建和策劃在線內容和資源

與專家合作

說話

建設性地向新西蘭教會和社會發表意見

代表新西蘭教會為媒體準備聯合聲明

向議會提交意見書

我們對基督徒合一的承諾反映了耶穌關於彼此相愛的教導

“所以現在我給你一條新誡命:彼此相愛。 就像我愛過你一樣,你們應該彼此相愛。 你們對彼此的愛將向世界證明你們是我的門徒。”

John 13:34-35

“我祈禱他們都合而為一,就像你和我合而為一——就像你在我裡面,父親,我也在你裡面。 願他們在我們裡面,讓世界相信你派我來的。”

約翰17:21

還有經文,例如

“盡一切努力保持團結 聖靈通過和平的紐帶。 有一個身體 和一個精神, 就像你被召喚時被召喚到一個希望中一樣; 一位主, 一種信仰,一種洗禮;”

的的以弗所書4:3-5

我們的工作

NZCN 幫助新西蘭基督徒團結起來,通過……

  • 時事通訊、網站和社交媒體
  • 祈禱早餐
  • NZCN 的全國在線祈禱運動(Pray As One NZ)
  • 論壇和會議,尤其是新西蘭基督教領袖大會
  • 全國大事
  • 與全國各地的牧師團體聯繫
  • 附屬機構和夥伴關係
  • 就特定問題組建焦點小組
  • 網絡和促進協作
  • 參加他人主導的論壇和磋商
  • 參與和服務新西蘭奧特羅亞國家教會領袖

NZCN 通過……幫助資源、加強和建設奧特阿羅亞教會……

  • 鼓勵祈禱,包括在線祈禱和祈禱早餐
  • 創造、策劃和傳播有用的資源,以建立基督徒和新西蘭教會
  • 將新西蘭基督徒聚集在一起,分享、啟發和合作
  • 成立焦點小組以解決困難問題並促進更好的結果

NZCN 尋求建設性地向新西蘭教會和社會發表意見……

帶著恩典和真理,帶著對福音和聖經的忠誠,帶著研究和理性。 懷著尊重和敏感的心態,新西蘭多信仰、多代和自由化社會不斷變化的現實,我們堅持基督教信仰的核心信條。

一個簡短的歷史

新西蘭基督教網絡成立於 2002 年 70 月,是兩次會議(由約翰·沃爾頓主持)的成果,約 XNUMX 名來自各個教派的教會領袖參加了會議。

NZCN 直接追隨一些早期組織的腳步:英國福音派聯盟 (1846 – )、新西蘭福音派聯盟、新西蘭福音派團契和新西蘭願景。 早期新西蘭運動的主要領導人包括雷·溫莎、約翰·富爾福德、布賴恩·海瑟薇和布魯斯·帕特里克。 Vision New Zealand 舉辦了三屆全國大會(1993 年、1997 年和 1999 年,NZCN 又舉辦了五屆(2005 年、2008 年、2011 年、2014 年和 2017 年)。從 2003 年到 2017 年,Glyn Carpenter 擔任 NZCN 全國總監。他的繼任者是 Stuart Lange .

多年來,NZCN 一直積極出版,通過各種媒體發表意見,參加教會領袖會議,幫助協調 2014 年二百週年,在宗教間對話和議會特別委員會中代表聖經基督教立場,並幫助福音派基督徒在祈禱、婚姻、生命的神聖、傳福音、商業和政治等領域建立聯繫。

直到2008年,NZCN被命名為新西蘭視覺網絡。 董事會決定名稱應明確包含“基督徒”一詞。 使用“福音派”這個詞也被考慮過,但人們認為“基督徒”這個詞更容易被公眾理解。

2020 年,NZCN 通過了修訂後的章程,解散了治理委員會(由 Mark Powell 擔任主席),取而代之的是工作委員會。

NZCN的全球分支機構

NZCN是新西蘭的成員 世界福音聯盟 (WEA)。 WEA 於 1846 年在英國成立,如今是代表基督徒(約 650 億)與天主教會(1 億)和世界基督教協進會(400 億)的三個主要全球機構之一。 五旬節派有一個全球性的團體,但他們的信仰立場在很大程度上與福音派重疊,這兩個群體經常合併在一起。

NZCN 是 134 個(獨立的)全國福音派聯盟之一。 他們中的許多人,就像在新西蘭一樣,在他們的名字中沒有包含“福音派”這個詞,儘管這確實描述了他們的信仰立場。

國家聯盟隸屬於 WEA,並從成為這樣一個全球夥伴關係的一部分中受益匪淺,但不受 WEA 的指導。

WEA 有大約 20 個委員會、倡議和工作組。 其中包括神學、婦女、宣教和宗教自由委員會,以及關於創造關懷、核武器、和平和解決衝突的工作組。

2021 年,Brian Winslade 博士(NZCN 工作委員會成員)被任命為 WEA 副秘書長。 2019 年,Rachel Afeaki-Taumoepeau(也是 NZCN 工作委員會成員)被任命為 WEA 南太平洋地區的負責人。

Bringing Christians together to strengthen the Church of Aotearoa New Zealand

New Zealand Christian Network is made up of hundreds of congregations and thousands of followers of Christ who live in this land, united by our common tenents of faith

Who we are

NZCN is a collaborative New Zealand network of Christian people, churches, and organisations, established in 2002 by an inter-denominational forum of church leaders to help the church in New Zealand be more united and effective, and to present a reasoned, well-researched Christian voice on public issues to media and government. Our whakapapa goes back to the World Evangelical Alliance (1846 – ), the Evangelical Alliance (New Zealand), the Evangelical Fellowship of New Zealand, and Vision NZ.

We uphold historic Christian faith, reflecting a moderate biblical-evangelical perspective. We work across the denominations, and seek to serve the whole church, and to speak into both church and society. We provide platforms for united prayer, fellowship, and networking.

NZCN is not a council of churches but is involved with the National Church Leaders of Aotearoa New Zealand (many of them are also on our Board of Reference).

Our Christian faith perspective

In common with Christians across a very wide range of denominations and church traditions, across the globe, we uphold historic biblical, evangelical Christian faith, as expressed in our Statement of Faith. To be ‘evangelical’ simply means to accept the biblical Gospel. Evangelical Christians include – among others – those Gospel-minded Christians who might normally describe themselves as Pentecostal or Charismatic. It also needs to be said that for the vast majority of the 2 billion Christians around the world, the term ‘evangelical’ carries no political connotations at all. Members and leaders of NZCN are required to accept our statement of faith.

NZCN seeks to work constructively across all churches, and to help the church have a positive influence upon wider New Zealand society.

Our Purpose

The purpose of the New Zealand Christian Network (NZCN) can be summarised as

Gather

To help Christians work together in unity

Prayer Breakfasts & Pray As One NZ

NZ Christian Leaders’ Congress

Connecting with pastors throughout the nation

Build

To help resource, strengthen, and build the church of Aotearoa

Connecting people and organisations

Creating & curating online content & resources

Collaborating with experts

Speak

To speak constructively into New Zealand church and society

Preparing joint statements on behalf of NZ churches for the media

Presenting submissions to Parliament

Our commitment to the unity of Christians reflects Jesus’ teaching on loving one another

“So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love one another. Your love for one another will prove to the world that you are my disciples.”

John 13:34-35

“I pray that they will all be one, just as you and I are one—as you are in me, Father, and I am in you. And may they be in us so that the world will believe you sent me.”

John 17:21

and also scriptures such as

“Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; one Lord, one faith, one baptism;”

Ephesians 4:3-5

What we do

NZCN helps bring New Zealand Christians together in greater unity, through…

  • newsletters, website, and social media
  • prayer breakfasts
  • NZCN’s national on-line prayer movement (Pray As One NZ)
  • forums and conferences, especially the New Zealand Christian Leaders’ Congress
  • national events
  • connecting with pastors’ groups around the country
  • affiliations and partnerships
  • forming focus groups on particular issues
  • networking and facilitating collaboration
  • participating in forums and consultations led by others
  • participating in and serving the National Church Leaders of Aotearoa New Zealand

NZCN helps resource, strengthen and build the church of Aotearoa, through…

  • encouraging prayer, including on-line prayer and prayer breakfasts
  • creating, curating, and disseminating useful resources to build up Christians and New Zealand churches
  • bringing together New Zealand Christians for sharing, inspiration, and collaboration
  • forming focus groups to work through difficult matters and facilitate better outcomes

NZCN seeks to speak constructively into New Zealand church and society…

with grace and truth, with faithfulness to the Gospel and the Bible, with research and reason. With respect, and with sensitivity to the changing realities of New Zealand’s multi-faith, multi-generational, and liberalising society, we hold to the core tenets of the Christian faith.

A brief history

The New Zealand Christian Network was formed in September 2002, as the outcome of two meetings (chaired by John Walton) of about 70 church leaders from across the denominations.

NZCN directly follows in the footsteps of a number of earlier organisations: the Evangelical Alliance in the UK (1846 – ), the New Zealand Evangelical Alliance, the Evangelical Fellowship of New Zealand, and Vision New Zealand. Key leaders in those earlier New Zealand movements included Ray Windsor, John Fulford, Brian Hathaway, and Bruce Patrick. Vision New Zealand ran three national congresses (1993, 1997 and 1999, and NZCN has run five more (2005, 2008, 2011, 2014 and 2017). From 2003-2017, Glyn Carpenter was NZCN National Director. He was succeeded by Stuart Lange.

Over the years NZCN has been active in publishing, speaking up through various media, participating in the Heads of Churches meeting, helping co-ordinate the 2014 bi-centenary, representing a biblical Christian position in inter-faith dialogues and in parliamentary select committees, and helping evangelical Christians network in areas such as prayer, marriage, sanctity of life, evangelism, business, and politics.

Until 2008, NZCN was named Vision Network of New Zealand. The Board decided the name should explicitly include the word ‘Christian’. Using the word ‘evangelical’ was also considered, but it was thought that the word ‘Christian’ is more better understood publically.

In 2020, a revised constitution was adopted by NZCN, and the governance Board (chaired by Mark Powell) was disestablished and replaced by a Working Board.

NZCN’s global affiliate

NZCN is the New Zealand member of the World Evangelical Alliance (WEA). The WEA was formed in Britain in 1846 and today is one of the three main global bodies representing Christians (approximately 650 million) along with the Catholic Church (1 billion) and the World Council of Churches (400 million). Pentecostals have a global body but their faith position largely overlaps with evangelicals and the two groups often merge together.

NZCN is one of 134 (independent) national evangelical alliances. Many of them, as in New Zealand, do not include the word ‘evangelical’ in their name, even though that does describe their faith position.

National alliances are affiliated with the WEA, and draw huge benefit from being part of such a global fellowship, but are not directed by the WEA.

The WEA has around 20 commissions, initiatives, and task forces. These include theology, women’s, missions, and religious liberties commissions, and task forces on creation care, nuclear weapons, peace, and conflict resolution.

In 2021, Rev Dr Brian Winslade (a member of the NZCN Working Board) was appointed a Deputy Secretary-General of the WEA. In 2019 Rachel Afeaki-Taumoepeau (also on the NZCN Working Board) was appointed the leader of WEA’s South Pacific region.